For these last days in December, I am participating in a blogging challenge http://www.reverb10.com/, which is an annual event and online initiative to reflect on your year and manifest what’s next.  Reverb provides writing prompts to elicit my reflections on 2010 and to generate my intentions for 2011.

PROMPT:  December 22 How did you travel in 2010? How and/or where would you like to travel next year? (Author: Tara Hunt)

At this time in my life, I find that my travel involves dragging my daughter around the country to visit various family members.  Up until a few weekends ago, my husband and I had not been away together, without child, for four and a half-years.  Our flight for our weekend getaway to Asheville, NC left Cleveland, OH at 6:25AM.  By the time we reached the airport at 4:50AM that morning, we had completed TWO WHOLE CONVERSATIONS.  I mean, the- from- beginning- to- end kind of conversations.  Not the kind that involves a “hold on, Sophia, mommy is trying to talk to daddy” every 5 seconds.  The problem was, by the time we reached our departure gate at 5:30Am, we were desperate to hear our daughter’s tiny voice.  And we admitted it, tearfully, to each other.  But Lord knows we boarded that plane anyway.

In 2011, we celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary.  But time and money may not cooperate with any sort of big trip kind of thing.  We will take it as it comes, which is how a traveler should travel.  Sure, we have a wish-list that butts up against a to-do list, like every family.  The key is to remember this:  “The real voyage of discovery consists not in seeking new landscapes but in having new eyes.”  Marcel Proust

